top of page

How to preserve Garlic | The community has spoken



It all started when I was making dinner, and realised we ran out of fresh garlic. Normally this never happens, but clearly, it did. I remembered that my husband bought a jar of it (and ginger) and so I looked in the fridge.


I've been trying to be more conscious of the products we buy, by looking at the labels and reading the ingredients. And when I did, I was disappointed that it contained stuff I really didn't want to put in my dinner. So I reached out to my beautiful Instagram followers and asked them how they preserve garlic. Now, if you know me, you know that my friend group is very mixed! I love a diverse friend group! So when I was getting answers from people who live around the world, old recipes and cultural recipes, the smile on my face was HUGE! It's not just one recipe, it's many! Depending on what you're looking for. What recipe you want to use them for, I was getting answers to help me preserve garlic in many ways!! Of course, now I want to share all those answers! Rather than typing it out, I figure I'd just share their words!

So as soon as we've finished #usingwhatwehave I will buy bulk garlic and preserve my own!





Which one speaks to you? I definitely want to freeze some as whole cloves and then grate when necessary. I will also blend with a little water and salt for the fridge, and I'll probably also freeze the blend in ice cube trays for bigger dinners. Lastly, I am inspired to use some of my nice oils, add salt and some herbs and let cloves sit in the oil in the fridge for those types of meals that infused garlic would suit! I'm so excited and a HUGE THANK YOU to all those who answered in my Insta Stories! You've inspired me!

I hope this post inspires you, also! Love Jami.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page