top of page

How to make a History Timeline - book style | Printable Available

When you first think of teaching history, I would wager that your first thought is "how am I going to display the timeline?" There are many options these days, and to be honest, most are complicated and designed to snake around your walls. I'm not really into that method, and more importantly, it wouldn't suit Jax!


I decided to do what come easiest to me, rather than scroll through the thousands of printables available on google, desperate to try to make someone else's method work for us- to just make my own. Our homeschool philosophy means that we like to keep things simple, yet engaging.


So without further ado (no one like long drawn out introductions!), here are the qualities of the timeline - book style, that I've created:


- It's A4, which makes it easier to print and display. As I designed this for my 7 year old (it could be used for any age) I wanted it to be big enough for his drawings.

- As it is A4, it displays easily in a sleeve folder, for easy viewing. It also means your child will have the ability to see the differences as time progresses easier, because it's a bigger space.

- Black and white & sleek design - because as homeschoolers we have enough colour to print, and your child's drawings are the only things that should stand out.

- My prompt version is designed for Australian curriculum stage 1, and is what I'm using for Jaxon's history.

- I've included a blank version so you can use whatever prompts your child needs for their history timeline.


Timeline focuses on these areas: Writing boxes:

~ Location in the world (with a world map for your child to circle the area on, for easy understanding and quick comparison)

~ Population size

~ Types of food

~ Forms of communication ( ie: rock art, smoke piles, speaking, dancing, etc)

~ Cool things about this time period

Drawing boxes (could be used to cut and paste images)

~ Dress code

~ House Structure

~ Technology at the time


So there you have it. Our printable for history, Term 1.


We are looking at these era's: > Stone age

> Bronze Age

> Ancient Babylon

> Middle Ages

> Renaissance

> 18th - 21st Century.


Follow along on Instagram as I share our progress. It will be saved in highlights, so don't worry if you've missed out.




Click to instantly download: By downloading you agree to the standard (no share, no alter) terms and conditions available on the website. Click here to read them.

History Timeline by Jami and unboundhome
.
Download • 1.25MB

This printable is gifted on a no-obligation

'pay if you want' basis!


There are two fantastic ways you can 'pay'.


The first is to share! This helps more homeschool mums find this resource! I'm only on Instagram, so feel free to share there, but you can also forward this PDF off to anyone you think would like it.


The second is to gift me financially, a sum you choose. You can do that by clicking this Paypal link


Either way, I'm so grateful for your love and support!

It means the world to me!

bottom of page